martial arts

October 16, 2010 § Leave a comment

This weekend I got to watch some of my favorite kiddos in an international martial arts competition. Unfortunately, I forgot my camera. You will need to forgive me for the poor phone pictures.  I have watched these four kids since they were born. They are five-year old triplets: Andrew, Ben and Jessie. Their older brother Danny is seven. Warning: the following photos are full of adorable little kids.

Hwang’s Martial Arts is a Louisville based Martial Arts School. His school is one of the top ten schools in the world for martial arts. For the last 24 years, he has hosted an international U.S. Open Championship. This event featured people from Nepal, Alaska, Tennessee, Bermuda, Virgina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Michigan and South Korea. The event was held at the Kentucky Convention Center.

Grand Master Hwang is very talented. Here is a list of just a few of his achievements: 1984 L.A. Olympic Silver Medalist, World’s first 19th degree combined black belt and 1999 Hall of Fame for outstanding leadership. Growing up, I was fortunate enough to be close to him. I went to school with his two daughters, MiMi and Sophia. I was very close to Sophia for three years until I transferred school, and we kept in touch through Facebook. It was nice seeing those two girls again. Although I would have liked to catch up, I didn’t have a chance to because of all the events taking place.

The kiddos loved the introduction. They got to walk out and everyone cheer for them. Obviously, this is a huge joy for little kids. Not to mention that the Louisville Lions Dance Club were doing their thing while everyone was being introduced. My babies loved that it was a dragon. I wish I could have gotten a picture, but my phone doesn’t zoom very well.

I think it is such a great thing that so many young children and adults are involved in this program. Everyone gets to learn self-discipline along with other personal strengths. This strong discipline can be used in all aspects of life. Not only discipline, but positive attitudes, self-confidence, good work ethics and healthy living habits are learned.

Don’t forget, the food! I think this is one of the few times the kids get to eat nachos, fries and hot dogs. Well, unless I take them to the pool during the summer. I let them eat junk food! I had such a great time with my babies. Lots of ahhhs!, hugs and kisses today. A great way to begin my busy weekend.

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading martial arts at Tea and Luv.

meta

