December 27, 2010 § 5 Comments

As you know, I am obsessed with the whole concept of polygamous Mormon fundamentalist. I have read a few different books, by women, about growing up in polygamy. Dorothy Allred Solomon first opened up this unending interest with her book “Daughter of the Saints: Growing up in Polygamy.” I have now ventured onto further read about the Church of the Firstborn of the Fulness of Times that was introduced to me by Solomon.  My close friend Katie is equally interested in these fundamentalist principles that are still commonly practiced today. Don’t believe me?

Yes, TLC’s “Sister Wives” is a huge hit. Not to mention “Big Love” has been around for a while now. Whatever the reason America (and myself) is drawn to this stuff like a fly to honey.

Katie lent me this book; I finished it in a week. I shamelessly read for five hours yesterday because it was just that good. The Mister could not believe I actually sat down and read for that long. Then again, I cannot understand why someone would play Counter Strike for hours on end. I digress.

This book had everything a good “Law and Order” plot would include: lies, sex, deceit and murder. I could not put it down. The writing wasn’t anything special, but the stories were wild enough to push past the elementary writing. I do recommend anyone to read this. It gives a powerful viewpoint of women’s rights not only in society but in religion. Although this was a major theme throughout the book, I did only read the book for the stories about the LeBaron family. If I was to read it again, I would focus more closely on the women’s struggle. Either way, it was intense and kept me from leaving the comfort of my snuggie and bed.

 

§ 5 Responses to

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading at Tea and Luv.

meta

