LOL: My Mother

January 13, 2011 § 1 Comment

I am sure you are wondering why I haven’t written a letter of love to either of my parents. HA! I have; I just wanted to save them for after the holidays. For some reason, I was thinking it was going to be extremely corny and cheesy to write a sappy letter to my mom and dad during Christmas time. It just seems too Hallmark-y. Anyway, my mother, Anna Lee…she is one of a kind to say the least.

Growing up I was always told that I am my mother’s twin. I never quite understand exactly what this meant until recently. We both have moments of stupidity regarding the simplest of things. Our love of the written word exceeds any desire to watch tv or play a board game. We might be winos. My mother and I both have this unnaturally high motherly instinct towards everyone and anyone. She pretty much rocks, and it is great that I am so much like her. Well, I am happy about it now.

My mom is BEAUTIFUL, I am talking model beautiful. (I do look just like her….which makes me smile. Not to sound superficial, but there is no way I am going to be an ugly old woman. The Mister has it maaade.) She has the charm and wit to match her good looks. Her personality is so spacey, you cannot help but love her. It does take her a minute or two to get the punch line of a joke occasionally. When she does realize how funny the joke is, the room is filled with this enchanting laughter. It draws you to her and makes you want to know the joke too. The way she can catch your eye with her smile makes everyone want to be surrounded by her. For instances, I helped two of her friends throw a surprise birthday for her two years ago. It was a huge success; she was completely surprised. The night of her party, my mom barely got to leave the table she was sitting at because everyone was crowded around her. She later told me how nice it was but that she needed elbow room.  Ha ha.

We haven’t always gotten along. I went through those teenage years where your mother is anything but your best friend. I certainly never made life easy for her, and I think sometimes it was harder than she expected or thought it ever would be. I was her first daughter; I rebelled worse than my older brother. I wish I could take back the things I did/said towards her. I may not be able to now, yet it is amazing to know the relationship I have with my mom now is one of a kind, just like her.

§ One Response to LOL: My Mother

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading LOL: My Mother at Tea and Luv.

meta

