“Oh, go read The Bell Jar, you poser!”

January 29, 2011 § Leave a comment

After my Chris Lilley kick, I moved on to cartoon comedy. Who better to run to than Seth MacFarlane for that genre of television shows? I think it is safe to say that everyone and their mother, well at least my mother and father, has seen an episode of  “Family Guy.” You probably left your living room after watching the show either realizing you found your new favorite television show or really offended. In my case, I did not find my favorite show, that title belongs to Buffy, (The Original True Blood….that is another tangent altogether though) but I did fall in love with the satirical humor of MacFarlane.

Now, I have watched enough FG to last a lifetime, but I have not watched that much of his other shows, “American Dad” and “The Cleveland Show.” So I began my journey with AD first. The show has always been hit and miss with me so I was hesitant to watch it, but after the Mister assured me that I would not be disappointed, I took the plunge.  As usual, the Mister was right.

AD is one of the best cartoon comedies I have seen in ages. The humor is almost always situational. To sum it up quickly for you, the show follows the random day-to-day events of the extremely right-wing CIA agent Stan, his dumb blonde, sweet as can be and former groupie now turned housewife Francine, an extreme left-wing, college daughter Hayley, his nerdy, boob searching son Steven, their “pet” alien Roger and “pet” goldfish Klaus. Klaus has had his brain switch by the CIA and is now actually an East German Olympic ski jumper in a goldfish’s body.

Roger is by far my favorite family member. He escaped from Area 51 with Stan after saving Stan’s life. Stan feels that he owes Roger so he takes him in without the knowledge of the CIA. Roger has a constant desire to be in the outside world. He leaves the home through various disguises, which end up being some of the most creative aspects of the show. Not to mention he is a raging alcoholic, which only adds to the character’s depth and humor.

This cartoon is a MUST watch. There are so many political references to America’s government. I love it. Oh! I almost forgot, you are guaranteed to see a musical number every other episode!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “Oh, go read The Bell Jar, you poser!” at Tea and Luv.

meta

