Why I Blog

March 19, 2011 § Leave a comment

(photo by katie)

I suppose I have never really address why I decided to begin a blog. I have been reading blogs for roughly two years now, yet my blogging life really started like so many other people, through Livejournal. It was in High School when I started to just play around with it. Nothing serious ever really came about with Livejournal (except flirting with my Mister…oh the good ol’ days of AIM) and I only kept up with it for made a year or two. I stopped using Livejournal and did not really think about it for a while until about a year ago when I stumbled upon Elsie’s blog. I began to really understand why so may individuals blog and why others such as myself enjoyed reading blogs.

1. Keeps me creative: My ultimate goal in life is to be a published writer. Honestly, blogging may be the closest I get to that happening. I mean, I have had a few reviews published in my hometown’s paper. (My Grandmother still talks about how proud she was because this happened in High School; she is my biggest supporter.) I spent all of my High School career focusing on writing. I spent my College years deeply studying, enhancing and learning how to hone my talent into my own voice. For me, if I can write one great sentence a day then I am staying creative, sharp and not letting my passion and goal disappear because of having to pay bills or do the laundry. Because let’s face it, being a freelance author is not easy. The stereotype “starving artist” does not exist for no reason. Do I really want to be a Paralegal the rest of my life? Not necessarily, but that is what I have to do to be able to keep my dream a reality, or at least eat while writing on the side. I explain it to the Mister as writing in a blog is my practice. Some people sing every day, play a sport every day to keep their talent at its peak; my practice is writing something. Every. Day.

2. Blogging is a scrapbook: I have always scrapbooked. I just want to be able to remember those special moments. The first time I went camping, the first time I went gem mining, my first time going on a road trip that wasn’t with my family, these are all memories that I want to be able to talk about like it happened yesterday. I want a record of my opinions when I was young, my feelings on things, my struggles, fears, loves, inspirations…everything. I want to be able to show my children and possibly even grandchildren what I looked like and what my everyday life was like for me. The events that occur in my life shape the person I am. I think it is so important to have the ability to say, “I think this because of this event that happened on this day, and I will show you the details of it.”

3. I like to know/ learn about different people’s lives and their little niche in society: People’s lives intrigue me. Different cultures, different societies and places, they are all sources of learning and inspiration. Luckily for me, the Mister and all of my friends are equally interested. They show me absurd things that constantly allow me to learn and grow as a person. If it is something that I have never heard of, I figured others do not know about it also…or at least one person may not know about it. It makes me want to share with the world something I discovered or was not aware existed. In the same aspect, other people do the same thing. In a way, it is a learning experience without the lame school books. It is a way for me to keep my mind sharp. 

4. I use my degree: I don’t know if you know this, but college is expensive! Ha. Ha. Not to forget, it is a very odd time in someone’s life. You are having to pick a career path for the rest of your life, learning to not lean on mom and dad, figuring out what you stand for as an individual, wondering how to stay in touch with some friends and then wondering why you and other friends are growing apart. College for me was a love/hate relationship. I loved the class discussions, I loved my major (English) and I loved the freedom. I hated the homework, wondering what I would do with my degree and figuring out if the people in my life were healthy relationships or not. These decisions were not easy. In the end, I realized I was picking my major because I. Love. Words.  My ultimate career goal was not a very practical one for my own personal life. On a daily basis, I got the question: “English? What are you going to do with that?” My response was always the same, “I do not really know, but I am happy waking up every morning and going to talk about something that I am extremely passionate about. Can you say the same about your major or career choice?” Yes, I was a little offended by the question; yes, sometimes I am a smart-ass. So what? Blogging is a way for me to use my degree. It may not pay my rent, but every morning I wake up looking forward to what the written word may bring to me.

5. It’s fun to met new people and make life long friends with people that are interested in the same hobbies: Name one person that does not want to make friends with someone who shares their hobbies. Yea, I didn’t think so. It is as simple as it sounds. I can make friends that share my interests. I have been told that I have an old soul by many people. Sometimes it is hard to find people who can relate to me because of this. Through blogging, I have discovered lots of other old souls. It makes life easier sometimes to have someone who can talk to you about those interests that your “real life” friends don’t understand. It is a great support system through a computer. I love it.

Blogging is so much more than a hobby or something to past the time for me. It is a journey that I have only just recently gotten serious about but something I will continue doing for years.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Why I Blog at Tea and Luv.

meta

