one down

June 21, 2011 § 1 Comment

Before “Never Let Me Go” was a film, it was a novel by Kazuo Ishiguro. I have yet to watch the film, but I heard it was good. I have a hatred for seeing a film based on the book before reading the actual book. I feel like it takes away some of the authenticity-especially when parts have been omitted or added. This book was no exception.Upon reading the first chapter, I was hooked. Not only was the language beautiful, a hint of British slang throughout the entire novel, but as the children grew up, the language and sentence structure became more complicated just as it would with real children growing from teens to young adults. The imagery was so descriptive, I felt as if I was at Hailsham with the novel’s three main characters Tommy, Ruth and Kathy. Kathy is the narrator of the novel and begins by explaining the difference between a Carer, Donor and how someone becomes both. The novel moves from past stories to Kathy’s present feelings on the past stories and individuals she has cared for. Kathy describes the time the three of them experienced at their school, Hailsham. During that time, Tommy and herself developed theories about teachers they had, a gallery the students had to put artwork in for Madame and items they traded amongst other children. The three character development grows exceptionally when the three of them have been moved by Madame to their next stage of schooling, The Cottage. At this home, the three of them find their own footing in the “real world” while still being under the blanket of their teachers.

Not many books cause such strong emotions. I actually found myself tearing up reading certain passages. This one in particular hit me like a ton of bricks:

“I keep thinking about this river somewhere, with the water moving really fast. And these two people in the water, trying to hold onto each other, holding on as hard as they can, but in the end it’s just too much. The current’s too strong. They’ve got to let go, drift apart. That’s how I think it is with us. It’s a shame, Kath, because we’ve loved each other all our lives. But in the end, we can’t stay together forever.”

This novel was a come of age story that is geared toward adults. I felt that it was a perfect book for me to read at this point in my life. It gave guidance that I needed…not career related, nothing regarding money…it was just guidance about looking at life a certain way. It makes the reader begin to question what is important in their own life. I expect the film to bring lots of tears to my eyes. Let me know what you thought of the book or film.

§ One Response to one down

  • Rebecca says:

    Have you tried taking pre-natal vitamins?!? I did and it seriously helped my hair grow! There’s also that Ovation Cell Therapy crap but at $100 a bottle it defiantly what’s worth it to me! Good luck mermaid =]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading one down at Tea and Luv.

meta

